“We Were Family” from Forgotten God

My small group is reading the last chapter of Francis Chan’s Forgotten God this week, and I just came across the passage where Chan describes the story of a former gang member who joined his church, then after a few months left. He goes on to write:

When asked why he didn’t come anymore, he gave the following explanation: “I had the wrong idea of what church was going to be like. When I joined the church, I thought it was going to be like joining a gang. You see, in gangs we weren’t just nice to each other once a week–we were family.” That killed me because I knew that what he expected is what the church is intended to be. It saddened me to think that a gang could paint a better picture of commitment, loyalty, and family than the local church body.”

Forgotten God by Francis Chan, p. 152

This prompted me to write “Big Ouch!” in the margin. Is this how my church is? Is this how your church is? Better, is this how you perceive the church, the bride of Christ, as a whole? Gangs have to be tight, like family, to survive in their environment. And here we are, the church, bombarded continually on all sides by our enemy, and yet we are scattered, non-cohesive, disunited. No wonder he infiltrates so easily. Our defenses are full of holes. Our offense is next to nil.

Any ideas? Thoughts? Prayers? How about actions we can take as individuals to change this destructive trend?

Unknown

6 thoughts on ““We Were Family” from Forgotten God

  1. terri0729 says:

    We have fallen way short of that mark in the American Churches of today, have we not? It’s so sad too. “Big Ouch” is right 😦 Great post!

  2. sheri says:

    I agree. BIG OUCH!! This is the reason my family attends or church now. The last church we were very involved members. But when the time when my family needed them NO ONE HAD TIME! My marriage was ending and my husband reached out and asked could someone meet with him. He was told I’ll call you later,(no call). Sooooo he called back.Still no time. This was on a Thursday. When he called back a third time he was toldsomeone

  3. sheri says:

    Might be able to meet with him next Tuesday for about thirty min. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!! My husband with drew and said never mind. The saddest part about all this is NO ONE EVER ASKED HIM WHAT HE NEEDED!! What if he was about to commit suicide our something like that. Needless to say we left the church. It has been a very hard road for us trying to save our marriage on our own, but God is great!! He knows what, and who we need in or lives. I am sooooo thankful for the wonderful couples in my life group. They are helping us more then they will ever know. They are our gang. That is how we do it. Together!!

  4. Virginia says:

    Ouch! I can relate to these statements. It is sad when people fall between the cracks and are not ministered to in a Church that is so busy being a place and not a House of God. I am so blessed now in my church home because I feel God is drawing us closer together and to HIM. My Bible Class is of a group of older ladies (35 to 40). We feel like sisters in Christ. We spend our week talking to each other and by living in a small town of 9,000, we see each other once or twice a week and feel we are not alone in our daily struggles. We have family issues and all need prayer. We want to be there for each other. We have been fortunate that some younger ladies have joined us in Bible Study and become a part of our Sisters in Christ. Thanks! God Bless you for reading and sharing Christ’s love.

  5. courtellyn says:

    Ladies, THANK YOU for stopping by! Your encouragement is necessary. Bless y’all.

  6. This is the problem with a lot of churches today. The amount of churches that I have only attended once because there is no gang culture, so to speak. I think that this is the real reason why the majority feel that the church is irrelevant in today’s society. It isn’t irrelevant, but has been failed by a number of people running today’s churches.

Share Your Thoughts

